top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErika Gonzalez

Tuesday Times Roundtable:Arts, Sustainability, and Funding. Can They Coexist? by Culture Shock Miami

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

Now this is a topic that greatly calls my attention! I am very glad to know that some art foundations are rejecting funding from the big oil companies. I think that it is extremely important to be aware of the companies you support and vice versa. I personally have been trying to do research on things that

Taking the money to make a climate-focused installation is a bold way to send a message to companies such as BP or others not following certain earth ethics. I feel like there is a fine line between accepting money from non-responsible companies and giving money to these companies. I feel that support going towards these kind of companies would be frowned upon in the environmental/corporate responsibility community, but accepting money to fund projects that may be environmentally friendly might bring mixed feelings because you think of where the money comes from.

In my opinion, I agree that people have different realities, but education and awareness is a HUGE thing when it comes to sustainability and social responsibility. Once you do your research and we tend to find that convenience may be easier than spending a few extra dollars and some time to find out what causes certain suppliers may be supporting or contributing to in a negative way.

I think that this was a great discussion to watch, and I understand that their focus was on BP but when they mentioned other companies there could have been some details added about any unethical things that may have happened since some may not be aware.

3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page