top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErika Gonzalez

Recognizing the Impact of Inclusion Through Adapted Sports

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

This roundtable talk was very touching to me. I have been involved with the Special Olympics as a volunteer, but I see the difference between Nirvana and the Special Olympics since one involves physically handicapped individuals and the other involves cognitively impaired individuals. Some of these individuals may be born with certain physical impairments such as spina bifida, and some may have been involved in accidents that transformed the way they live forever.

I feel that adapted sports for these individuals is highly important because it helps to remind them that even though their way of life has changed, they still belong to society and physical activity is very important mentally, physically and emotionally. The sense of discouragement when feeling that you can’t be included or participate in something you were once able to excel at. Franklin was very inspiring since he saw that an accident at such a young age as God’s plan for him. Juan had some inspirational words as well, saying that everyone has something special to give to someone else which I wholeheartedly agree with. Aldo is getting his Ph.D., a milestone that not many people go on to do, but he is motivated and determined to pursue his love of education.

I have been involved in two car accidents that gave me permanent injuries but did not permanently paralyze me, so when I see those who were affected in such a way, it hits a nerve. Something similar could have happened to me and I have a new appreciation for life since those times and it’s beautiful to see others who feel the same. The Nirvana Project is a beautiful program and I want to be involved as a volunteer. I am very glad and touched that as humans we have a place to go, where others have gone through the same as us and we can have fun together. I truly feel that we need to become aware of more programs like this, not limited to physical disability but emotional health, different traumas and more. Exercise and sports help to keep our mind, body and heart strong.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page